Portland Place Nursery

Portland Place Nursery Reproduced from the 1879 Ordnance Survey map of Central Reading.

Portland Place Nursery
Reproduced from the 1879 Ordnance Survey map of Central Reading

 

Serendipity!

I have been taking a University of Oxford, Department of Continuing Education course, ‘Shall We Cultivate Our Garden? Introducing Agro-Ecology & Sustainable Farming’ at the University of Reading London Road Campus. Looking at some old maps of Reading the other day I came across the Portland Place Nursery which in 1879 was right where the campus now is. As yet, I know nothing about the nursery but as I sit in my lectures I like to think about the things that used to grow here and perhaps that will inspire me!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Allotments

Leave a Reply

